Denver Hamburger in Colorado
About Us Denver Map Rave Reviews CityGrille Menu Nightly Specials Coupons Catering The Staff CityScene
   

 

Now you can get
Denver's Best Burger
in Southeast Denver!

Click Here!
 



Click here!

 

 



We're proud of all the rave reviews we've received over the years. Food writers vote us tops in burger and green chili - read on! 
We thank our loyal customers who vote for us and keep coming in. 

~ Rich Salturelli, Owner

Best Burger in 5280's Top of the Town - Citygrille5280's Top of the Town 2011
Denver's BEST Burger

"CITYGRILLE It's been a few years since we dropped by for burgers at CityGrille, but we're glad we went back. Lately, it seems like more patties than not are topped with every glamorous—and, dare we say, borderline overindulgent—ingredient possible, from Brie and truffle oil to sun-dried tomato pesto and artichokes. CityGrille's cooked-to-order steak burger—layered with nothing more than cheddar, tomato, lettuce, onions, and pickles—is the simple comfort-food throwback we so often crave. Long live Americana on a plate."

View award PDF or view on 5280.com


Denver HamburgerThe CityGrille Burger: As Good as it Gets:
By David Schlicter | March 5, 2012

Walk or drive by CityGrille at Colfax and Logan and you will see a huge banner across the length of the restaurant reading "THE BEST BURGER IN DENVER." The closer you get, the more banners and posters you'll see, all full of accolades for CityGrille's burgers. Though I'm the first to admit I haven't tried every single burger in Denver (my waistline would probably look significantly different if I had), I have never eaten a better burger in Denver than the CityGrille Burger from CityGrille.

When it comes to the best burger in Denver, there is plenty of food for debate. Westword has featured a different "best" burger almost every year and also has a top 10 list featuring even more "best" burgers in Denver. Channel 7′s A List features the best burgers in Denver and selected…Red Robin (really?!). The Cherry Cricket has gotten a lot of positive press and hype, rightfully so in my opinion, and many of my Good friends find it to be the best in Denver. I think it's capital G Good, but I have to agree with 5280 that (from what I've tried) CityGrille's burger is Top of the Town.

The CityGrille Burger from CityGrille is burger heaven. A half pound of perfectly seasoned sirloin sits atop a soft and tasty ciabatta-style bun and is crowned with bacon, Swiss cheese, and delicious Caesar dressing. Lettuce, tomatoes, onions, and pickles are served on the side next to a heaping portion of salty French fries, cole slaw, or mixed greens. The burger is delicious. Taste explosion. Burger heaven.

I've tried lots of burgers in Denver and, for now, can't find one that can top the CityGrille Burger. It's too Good. I'll keep looking though, and here is where you'll find the article if I find a better burger. Read Article »


BEST COLORADO-STYLE GREEN CHILE
Best of Westword 2006

Green chile has cult status in this state, and there's no better place to worship the peculiar concoction that is Colorado-style green chile than at CityGrille. Colorado verde is thicker and gooier than New Mexico green, and the fat chunks of pork give it more muscle and depth. While this hometown version might be considered blasphemy in Hatch country, at least CityGrille's kitchen is blaspheming with gusto, turning out a green chile that's roundly flavored, hot, sweet, almost creamy and totally porkerific. Poured over an order of fries, this verde reaches addictive levels that border on narcotic. It just goes to show that nothing in the culinary world was ever harmed by the addition of pork.

DENVER'S BEST BURGER
AOL Cityguide 2006

The papers, the Gabby Gourmet and just about everyone else has given CityGrille a nod for best power lunch, best burger, best green chili and best fill-in-the-blank for just about everything else the eatery serves. Open since 1998, CityGrille is a stone's throw from the capitol, making it convenient with a capital "C" -- no pun intended. The only mystery at the grill is why this place isn't jam-packed every night of the week. It's as if CityGrille is a secret that everyone knows about but is loath to give away. Besides the food and specials every night of the week, the bar is fun, too. TVs and a decent jukebox are all you need to accompany your fine food and drinks. In a neighborhood full of dance clubs, a nice quiet bar like this is a treasure. Try CityGrille on a Saturday night when the other local clubs are too loud and crowded -- the Grille is pleasantly subdued. Just get there early. This tends to be an early-evening place, not a late-night joint. -- Amy Lewis

Burger Celebration – Great Burger
Denver Daily News
Michael Kirschbaum
May 27, 2003

When you break it all down, a burger is pretty much a burger, right? All burgers, for the most part, are made of the same stuff: A ground beef patty and a bun.

Then why in the world do the folks at the CityGrille do burgers so much better than the rest of us? More appropriately, how?

Well, the secret to that will A) remain a secret and B) is the reason the CityGrille finds itself atop the list of just about everyone who has a Best Burger List. And, the famous CityGrille burger will be the center of attention all this week as owners Rich Salturelli and Dave Minty celebrate CityGrille's fifth anniversary.

Five years ago, Salturelli and Minty had a simple idea: "We just wanted to do simple American food with good value," Salturelli said as he prepared for a week-long birthday celebration. "But, one of the things David and I did was actually sit down and try to put together the best burger we could. It was a goal of ours."

Simply put, they achieved their goal.

In five years, the CityGrille has tripled its business, has dozens of awards to its credit and still has the same goals to provide good American food at a reasonable price.

And, starting tonight, the "reasonable price" has become even more reasonable. The CityGrille will feature 50-cent mini burgers, 50-cent pints of Pabst Blue Ribbon and Old Dog Flying Scratch beers and $5 shots of top-shelf tequila from 5 p.m. to midnight. These deals will happen tonight, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. The restaurant will be closed Thursday for a VIP party.

"David approached me a month ago and suggested we do something special, because not only was it our fifth anniversary, but it's National Hamburger Month," Salturelli said. "And this is what we came up with. It's nice to give back to the community with an entire week of specials like this."

Oh, and Rich, what's the secret to that burger that's won awards from every local publication as well as the USA Today?

"Well, for one, we cook the burger on a flat grill, which seals the juices," he said. "We add some special seasonings. Our burgers come in fresh. We use a special bun from the Blue Point Bakery. We double toast the bun, so it's crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle, and we take a lot of care and pride in them. Our burgers, after all, have gotten us to where we are. You've gotta specialize in something for people to take notice, and we have."

Of course, the CityGrille doesn't just serve burgers, and doesn't just serve one kind of burger. However, on your first visit, you must try the signature (and appropriately named) CityGrille Burger: Swiss cheese, bacon and Caesar dressing." (Editor's note: You're not the only person imitating Homer Simpson's "Aaaaauuughghgh" - drooling sound right now.)

CityGrille also has a turkey burger, a veggie burger, a salmon burger and will introduce a chicken burger on its next menu . . . due out in about a month, Salturelli said.

"And, it's not just about the burgers," he said. "All our dressings, soups and sauces are made from scratch. We have nightly specials too that have won some awards. We're really proud of what we've come up with here."

And, the public seems to agree. At lunch, the CityGrille turns into a power lunch spot, with high-priced lawyers and politicians doing business over food.

At night, a younger clientele and families fill up the place. CityGrille is located at 321 E. Colfax, and the kitchen is open from 11 a.m. to midnight.

 

Birthday Bash
Denver Post
Dick Kreck

May 26, 2003

Timing is everything. That's what I hear. May is Hamburger Month, which just happens to coincide with an outbreak of mad-cow disease in Canada.

Oh, who cares? I'm headed for McDonald's.

But first, there is the fifth anniversary of CityGrille, the Rich Salturelli-David Minty eatery at 321 E. Colfax Ave.

Salturelli and Minty rolled the dice in 1998, bought the restaurant from Jim Beatty, even though the neighborhood could be described charitably as a little rough around the edges.

That was then. "Now," says Salturelli, the one-time king of clubs in Cherry Creek, "there are so many things happening."

What's happening from 5 p.m. to midnight Tuesday through Saturday is CityGrille's Birthday Burger, a 50-cent mini-version of its famous hamburger, by some accounts the city's best.

In addition, there will be 50-cent beers, $5 shots of top-shelf tequila and entertainment, including the mysterious "Orange Peel." Salturelli admits he hired the Peel sight-unseen. "I've never met the guy but when they told me he dresses up like an orange peel, I said, "I want him!' " Who wouldn't?

Salturelli and crew were out front late last week, touching up the bar's exterior. This goes along with a new patio and interior fix-ups.

I don't know how this is going to work. The place is already packed most nights, especially on Fridays. Bargain beers and burgers can only add to the madness.

Salturelli previously owned Cherry Cricket, The Bay Wolf and Manhattan Grill in Cherry Creek before he, briefly, left the restaurant biz. He's also part-owner of the new Blake Street Taverns at 24th and Blake.

Westword awarded CityGrille the honors of Best Hamburger and Best Fries in its Best Of issue earlier this month. We knew it sooner.

Since 1998, co-owners David Minty and Rich Salturelli have provided American food favorites served with a side of value. Minty has worked as a chef along side Jean Louis Palladin and Daniel Bouloud in Arizona, California and Washington, D.C., and he was the chef at the Beacon Grill and Gourmet Alternative Catering Co. At CityGrille, Minty works the back of the house while Salturelli works the front. Salturelli has been involved in many restaurants including the Cherry Cricket, Cricket on the Hill, Bay Wolf, Doc Weed's, Beacon Grille, Blanos Pizza in Vail and Manhattan Grill in Cherry Creek.

This particular restaurant is a neighborhood joint with citywide appeal. Take a seat at the bar. Get comfortable in a booth. Eavesdrop. Glimpse lobbyists working their best interests. Chomp down on the best hamburger in Denver. Order up a side of green chile. It's gotten rave reviews, too.

At 321 E. Colfax Ave. near the State Capitol Building, CityGrille attracts a lot of politicians, lawyers, businesspeople and regulars. It beat out The Palm for power lunches. But it still feels like a place where the powerful roll up their shirtsleeves and loosen their ties. Weekday specials are a bonus: On Monday nights, get the best burger in town plus fries and a draft beer for only $6.95. On Tuesday the special is crab cakes, Wednesday it's baby-back ribs, Thursday is

$3 Micro and Import Pints, Fridays it's the Big City Burrito, Saturday it's prime rib, and Sunday it's spaghetti night for only $5.95. The prices are unbeatable. Plus, they offer two-for-one on the first drink for any restaurant employee who frequents CityGrille after 5 p.m.

There's a To Go menu, 12 beers on tap including five micros, four imports, and three domestics. A new Tequila List features 50 different tequilas to choose from. The place has been newly decorated. Five TVs in the bar feature music videos after 10:30 p.m. The kitchen stays open late from 11 a.m. to midnight Monday through Thursday and Sunday, and from 11 a.m. to 1 a.m. Friday and Saturday. Plus, CityGrille offers an aggressive catering menu serving breakfast, lunch and dinner for groups of five to 350. There's free parking in the back of the restaurant after 3 p.m. daily.

"We serve high quality food as evidenced by the reviews we get," Salturelli said. "We want to be known as the watering hole for Capitol Hill. What sets us apart is that our food and our prices are exceptional. We're building our business on our food reputation."

Critics' reviews support Salturelli's claims. Recently, CityGrille captured best hamburger and best French fries in Westword.

CityGrille is also on the Web at www.citygrille.com.

 

Five Top Bargain Bites - Beyond a Burger and Fries
10th Annual Guide to the Best Food in Town
5280 Magazine

October 2002

There's always a dinner special at CITYGRILLE, a convivial watering hole across from the capitol. True, the joint is best known for its burgers, but loyal lobbyists in the know go for the 12-ounce prime rib served every Saturday night. At the bargain price of $10.95, the huge slice of crimson beef is served with soup or salad, a baked potato, and mixed vegetables. Wash it down with a cold one, and worry about the economy tomorrow.

 

CityGrille - Best Hamburger, Best Fries, Best Bet
Nancy Clark,
Denver Daily News

September 19, 2002

Westword awarded CityGrille the honors of Best Hamburger and Best Fries in its Best Of issue earlier this month. We knew it sooner.

Since 1998, co-owners David Minty and Rich Salturelli have provided American food favorites served with a side of value. Minty has worked as a chef along side Jean Louis Palladin and Daniel Bouloud in Arizona, California, and Washington D.C., and he was the chef at the Beacon Grill and Gourmet Alternative Catering Co. At CityGrille. Minty works the back of the house while Salturelli works the front. Salturelli has been involved in many restaurants including the Cherry Cricket, Cricket on the Hill, Bay Wolf, Doc Weed's, Beacon Grille, Blanos Pizza in Vail, and Manhattan Grille in Cherry Creek.

This particular restaurant is a neighborhood joint with citywide appeal. Take a seat at the bar. Get conformable in a booth. Eavesdrop. Glimpse lobbyists working their best interests. Chomp down on the best hamburger in Denver. Order up a side of green chili. It's gotten rave reviews, too.

At 321 E. Colfax Ave. near the State Capitol Building, CityGrille attracts a lot of politicians, lawyers, businesspeople and regulars. It beat out The Palm for power lunches. But it still feels like a place where the powerful roll up their shirtsleeves and loosen their ties. Weekday specials are a bonus: On Monday nights, get the best burger in town plus fries and a draft beer for only $6.95. On Tuesday the special is crab cakes, Wednesday it's baby-back ribs, Thursday is $3 Micro and Import Pints, Fridays it's the Big City Burrito, Saturday it's prime rib, and Sunday it's spaghetti night for only $5.95. The prices are unbeatable. Plus they offer two for one on the first drink for any restaurant employee who frequents CityGrille after 5pm.

There's a To Go menu, 12 beers on tap including five micros, four imports and three domestics. A new Tequila List features 50 different tequilas to choose from. The place has been newly decorated. Five TVs in the bar feature music videos after 10:30pm. The kitchen stays open late from 11am to midnight Monday through Thursday and Sunday, and 11am to 1am Friday and Saturday. Plus, CityGrille offers an aggressive catering menu serving breakfast, lunch and dinner for groups of five to 350. There's free parking in the back of the restaurant after 3pm daily.

"We serve high quality food as evidenced by the reviews we get," Salturelli said. "We want to be known as the watering hole for Capitol Hill. What sets us apart is that our food and our prices are exceptional. We're building our business on our food reputation."

Critics reviews support Salturelli's claims. Recently, CityGrille captured best hamburger and best French Fries in Westword.

CityGrille is also on the web at www.citygrille.com.

 

Best Burger
INSite Denver
Denver's Best
2002

For the best burger in town, none can compare to CityGrille. The perfect amount of grease, cheese and garnishes could only get better when served with a beer and a side of fries.

 

Best Hamburger
Best of Denver
Westword

2002

CityGrille, a newly remodeled Capitol Hill hot spot, just keeps getting hotter — and its burger just keeps getting better. To make its take on the American classic, the kitchen grills up 80 percent lean ground sirloin, then slaps it on a yielding, juice-soaking Bluepoint Bakery bun. The burgers are fine plain, but they're also good gussied up; one particularly successful combo sports an inch-thick blanket of melted Swiss, crisp bacon and a great Caesar dressing. Although the bar's a great place for taking your time over a burger and a few beers, the people-watching is prime in the dining room.

 

Best French Fries
Best of Denver
Westword
2002

Handy, isn't it, for a restaurant that makes the town's best burger to also make its best French fries? Ronald McDonald, eat your heart out: These strips are the real deal, skinny and salty, with flavor that comes from a quick dip in hot oil rather than a trip to a flavor factory. The fries are delivered to your table so hot that grabbing one (and you will) could singe your fingers, but these crispy critters hold up even after a cooling-off period. This spud's for you, babe.

 

Best Burger
INSite Denver
Fall/Winter
2001

We know we're not the first to give CityGrille this honor but hey, they deserve it. CityGrille has successfully locked up the award year after year because of its emphasis on top of the line buns and meats combined with a skillful grilling technique. CityGrille triangular-shaped Bluepoint Bakery crusty, chewy buns with ground 80/20 (80 percent meat, 20 percent fat) sirloin beef that is made to perfect by experienced chef David Minty.

Best Power Lunch
Best of Denver
Westword
2001

It's noon. Do you know where your legislator is? Chances are she's wolfing down one of Denver's best burgers at CityGrille, the gathering place/watering hole for anyone who's anyone at the State CapitolŃnot to mention anyone who lobbies anyone there or across the street at city hall. But CityGrille isn't just for the power elite; if these walls could talk, they'd have the scoop on everyone from contributors and aides to secretaries and janitors, all of whom take advantage both of this casual, divey eatery's proximity to the Capitol and of its fabulous green chile. The three-martini lunch is alive and well here, as is strict, power-lunch protocol: If you're talking in low, hushed tones, everyone looks away. For a minute...anyway.

 

Top Bargain Meal
Editor's Choice
5280 Magazine

June/July 2001

The burgers–oh, those burgers! And, come Monday night, you can treat yourself to one of those righteous, plump and juicy, half-pound patties, a plate of fires, and a 12-ounce domestic draft for the bargain basement price of $6.95. But wait, there's more! Wednesday night brings the rib feast, where $6.95 gets you a half slab of baby back ribs, coleslaw and fries. Fridays are Mexican fiesta nights where any Mexican entree on the menu is a song at $6.95–plus your first margarita is half-price.

 

Local Tastes
USA Today
Bill St. John, Denver Post
May 11, 2001

CityGrille...scrappy and in your face, "with food on all fours like a killer burger, roast chicken and solid tap beers....What we have here is a joint." What's best about the renowned hamburger: the triangular-shaped bun from Bluepoint Bakery ("crusty, chewy, real bread"); the half-pound of hand-formed ground sirloin; and the expert grilling ("a crust binds the outside and juicy pebbles of meat break from within"). "CityGrille keeps the kind of servers who learn your name after but the second visit and who speed your lunch like Mercury. They're as much part of the level of comfort here as the subdued lighting, old banquettes and hearty food." Lunch, $4.95-$10.95.

 

Highly Recommended
Pat Miller, The Gabby Gourmet
Gabby Gourmet Restaurant Guide

2001

The green chili is the best in town; very hot, but full of flavor. It is a meal in itself or a perfect topping for the Mexican food.... enchiladas, rellenos, tamales, and burritos are all winners. The Caesar salad is terrific, as is the salmon salad. The ribs are covered with blueberry barbecue, the fresh salsa, and coleslaw sides are well worth trying. It's not Monday night football, but Monday night burgers that bring in the crowds to CityGrille...half-pound burgers with fries (that are even better than the burgers) and a 12 oz. domestic draft for $6.95. As for a side of blueberry barbecue sauce or green chili that is truly to-die-for, or from, if you don't like spice.

 

Top 10 Restaurants
www.chowbaby.com
Marge Hansen
March 20, 2001

Denver is looking and feeling good. The city's culinary traditions are changing, catering to a variety of surprisingly complex tastes. From mammoth American steaks to sophisticated cafˇ bar menus and fine French cuisine, the rhythm of the restaurant scene teases, tempts and above all delivers fine food earning praise all around. Just as the Rocky Mountains dominate the views to the west, the following restaurants rise above the ordinary to provide a meal to remember.

Some nights are made for burgers, ribs or an unpretentious taste of the southwest. "Burger Madness" reigns on Monday nights. A handful of half-pound, freshly ground sirloin steak burger, labeled the best burger in Denver, comes with crispy fries and a 12-ounce domestic draft. On Wednesday nights, they roll out the ribs. A half slab of baby backs painted with blueberry habanero sauce or a half chicken is served with fries and coleslaw. At Friday night's "Mexican Fiesta," diners can choose from burritos, enchiladas, rellenos, or tamales and enjoy their first margarita for half price. The no-frills menu features hefty sandwiches and plates brimming with solid entrees like London Broil and Chicken Fried Steak coupled with generous portions of mashed potatoes, vegetables, and soup or a house salad. The Green Chili is sensational! Located across from the Capitol, legislators frequently gather here. It's politics as usual, but the great CityGrille food is anything but. ItÕs nothing short of outstanding at prices that canÕt be beat.

 

Power Meals
Lisa Opsahl
Denver Rocky Mountain News
Dec. 3, 2000

Recommended by Pat Read, executive director of the Colorado Association of Nonprofit Organizations. Anyone who's anyone in government eats lunch at the CityGrille during the legislative session, and Read is no exception. Because it's so close to the Capitol, "It's the place to network and connect with legislators, government officials and others," Read said. If she really wants a burger, the CityGrille is the place to go. But she also enjoys the Mexican specials and the Oriental salad with sliced mandarin oranges and almond slivers. Read complimented the restaurant's staff, which manages to work steadily through the hectic lunch rushes. Her advice is to get there early because it's sure to be crowded, and not just while the legislature is in session.

 

A Capitol Idea
By Kyle Wagner
Westword
July 29, 2000

CityGrille...one of the town's best spots for deal-making and bread-breaking. CityGrille's location alone -- at 321 East Colfax Avenue, right across the street from the Capitol -- puts it in an almost unbeatable position for attracting the high and mighty. While lobbyists and legislators chew the fat, they can also down good Southwestern and Mexican fare. An order of three-cheese chile rellenos brings two big, fat chiles stuffed to overflowing with plain and pepper jack as well as cheddar; each bundle has been fried in a tasty batter, then smothered with CityGrille's great green chile (which earned Best Gringo Green award this year). Try gringo green on the hefty steak burrito, with its spicy marinated beef strips and tons of cheddar, or the Taos chicken, a tender bird breast blanketed in Swiss and sided by a tangy, hand-mashed guacamole.

 

Best Gringo Green Chile
Best of Denver 2000
Westword
July 29, 2000

If there's one thing that Colorado lobbyists, legislators and lawyers alike can agree on, it's the mean green at CityGrille. CityGrille grills up one of the town's best burgers...and combines jalapeños, tomatoes and pork in a way few Mexican places have been able to muster, let alone master. This glorious, gravy-like green chile has perfect smothering qualities. A firm but not overwhelming chile kick adds extra interest. Don't scrape the bottom of your empty plate too loudly; you'll want to hear the conversation of those around you.

 

Readers Choice 2000
By Steve Cruz
OutFront Colorado

May 3, 2000

Our top picks for great eats...hamburger is CityGrille. A choice half-pound beef patty on a premium Bluepoint Bakery bun with all the fixings makes for a great nosh. Monday Burger Madness includes a free beer!

 

Prize Patties: Best Burger in Town
Thom Wise, Restaurant Critic
Denver Rocky Mountain News
November 12, 1999

What does it take to be named the best hamburger in town? Start with the bun. CityGrille uses the superb "rustic roll" by Bluepoint Bakery...a heartier, country-style roll instead of the far more common sesame bun. The half-pound of meat comes from the highly reputable Anderson Boneless Beef Co. and is seasoned with chef David Minty's "secret spice" recipe before being grilled on a flattop stove. The French fries could be the best in town. Monday nights feature "Burger Madness" at CityGrille...burger, fries and a beer for $6.95.

 

Law and Order Me a Burger
By Bill Gallo
Westword
May 6, 1999

The CityGrille burger occupies a special place in our heart - and not just because of its fat count. A luscious beef patty of heroic proportion, it arrives cloaked in melted Swiss cheese, crisp bacon and - the coup de grace - a dollop of garlicky Caesar dressing. It's parenthesized by one of the finest rolls in burgerdom, straight from the oven of a French bakery and lightly toasted. Don't forget a spoonful of sweet pickle relish. And as long as you're challenging the actuarial tables, wave off the "mixed greens" in favor of a mountain of thin, crispy French fries...without the exertions of CityGrille's patrons, Colorado government might grind happily to a halt, but that's another story.